

# Annual appointments

Author & Job title:	Shakira Martin, National President
Date Produced:	5 September 2018
Meeting date:	17 September 2018
Meeting of:	National Executive Council
Summary:	This paper summarises a decision made by an online meeting of the NEC in August.  This paper is to note.
<b>Equality Impact Assessment:</b>	None

#### **NUS UK Board - Officer Trustees**

The NUS UK Board's principal function in exercising its powers, duties and functions shall be to serve the aims, objects and wishes of the National Conference, National Executive Council and committees in line with policy set out by those bodies.

The NUS UK Board is responsible for the management and administration of the National Union, this includes responsibility for the detailed internal budgets.

The NUS UK Board shall provide leadership and oversight of the long-term 'Campaigning and Influencing' plans and work of the NUS Group and ensure appropriate oversight of the delivery of the operating plans and KPIs in line with the overall aims and objectives.

2018/19: Gwyneth Sweatman, Amatey Doku, Zamzam Ibrahim, Shuwanna Aaron

# **Deputy National President**

The President is required to appoint a deputy to fulfil the role of National President should the current president be unable to do so:

2018/19: Amatey Doku



# **NUS Services Board**

The NUS Services Board shall provide leadership and oversight of the long-term 'Enterprise and Engagement' plans and work and ensure appropriate oversight of the delivery of the operating plans and KPIs that underpin the overall aims and objectives.

There are 2 positions available for NUS Officers (not President or VPUD) to the NUS Services Board:

2018/19: Olivia Potter Hughes, Chisomo Phiri

#### **NUS Charitable Services Board**

The NUS Charitable Services Board shall be responsible for the management and administration of the NUS charity:

2018/19: Zamzam Ibrahim, Shuwanna Aaron

# Other internal appointments

## **Race Equity Steering Group**

Chair: Shakira Martin

Appointments: Amatey Doku, Ali Milani, Sally Patterson, Ilyas Nagdee

#### **Nations Committee**

Appointments: Shakira Martin, Liam McCabe, Gwyneth Sweatman, Olivia Potter-Hughes

# Voting record:

Name	Position	Vote			
		Board Appointments 2018			
		Арр	Rej	Abstain	
Shakira Martin	National President	1			
Amatey Doku	Vice President Higher Education	1			
Diko Blackings	Higher Education NEC 2nd Place				Did not vote
Emily Chapman	Vice President Further Education	1			
Jessica Foster	Further Education NEC 2nd Place				Did not vote
Ali Milani	Vice President Union Development	1			
VACANT	Union Development NEC 2nd Place				
Zamzam Ibrahim	Vice President Society and Citizenship	1			
Jessica Okwuonu	Society and Citizenship NEC 2nd Place				Did not vote
Eva Crossan Jory	Vice President Welfare				Did not vote
Florence Onwumere	Welfare NEC 2nd Place				Did not vote
Yinbo Yu	International Students' Officer				Did not vote
Erica Ramos	International Students NEC 2nd Place				Did not vote
Rachel O'Brien	Disabled Students' Officer	1			

Piers Wilkinson	Disabled NEC 2nd Place		1	
Ilyas Nagdee	Black Students' Officer	1		
Fope Olaleye	Black NEC 2nd Place			Did not vote
Rob Noon	LGBT+ Officer	1		
Eden Ladley	LGBT+ Officer (Womens Place)			Did not vote
Jess Bradley	Trans Officer			Did not vote
Natalia Mole	Trans NEC 2nd Place	1		
Sarah Lasoye	Womens' Officer	1		
Lola Olufemi	Women's NEC 2nd Place	1		
Mohamed Abdulhahi	Postgraduate Taught NEC			Did not vote
Amelia Horgan	Postgraduate Research NEC	1		
Fiona Wood	Part-Time NEC	1		
Tom Campbell	Mature NEC			Did not vote
Deej Malik-Johnson	Parents & Carers NEC			Did not vote
Ayo Olatunji	Block of 15			Did not vote
Azza Abdullah	Block of 15	1		
Ceewhy Ochoga	Block of 15	1		
Chuchu Nwagu	Block of 15	1		
Cosob Awil	Block of 15			Did not vote
Harry Bishop	Block of 15	1		

	Result	Pass			
	Total	24	0	1	
Kevin McStravock	NUS-USI 2nd Place	1			
Olivia Potter-Hughes	NUS-USI President				Did not vote
Shuwanna Aaron	NUS Scotland 2nd Place				Did not vote
Liam McCabe	NUS Scotland President				Did not vote
Rob Simkins	NUS Wales 2nd Place	1			
Gwyneth Sweatman	NUS Wales President	1			
Sarah Al-Aride	Block of 15				Did not vote
Sally Patterson	Block of 15	1			
Riddi Viswanathan	Block of 15	1			
Phillip Dowler	Block of 15				Did not vote
Myriam Kane	Block of 15				Did not vote
Laura Lunn-Bates	Block of 15				Did not vote
Juliana Mohamad Noor	Block of 15	1			
James Cleverley	Block of 15	1			
Hayvi Rahem	Block of 15				Did not vote