Who's who on the NEC

The National Executive Council is made up of Officers and Councillors.

Officers are the political leadership of the organisation, elected by National Conference, Nations Conferences, Liberation Conferences and International Students Conference. They are responsible for the implementation of policy.

There are 39 councillors on the NEC who receive reports on the priority campaign and the work of each of the five zones. The role of a member of the NEC is to consult with students’ unions and scrutinise the reports made by officers. Councillors are responsible for scrutinising and shaping the direction of the political leadership. 

Councillors on NEC are made up of:

  • The Block of 15
  • 5 Zone Committee Members
  • 2 members from the Mature and Part-time Section
  • 2 members from the Postgraduate Section
  • 1 member from each of the Black, Disabled and Womens Liberation Campaigns
  • 1 member from the International Students Section
  • 1 member from each of the three nations.

With the officers they are responsible for setting policy and ensuring the officers are implementing it.


NEC will receive all paperwork before the meeting itself. They should identify areas of interest and consult with the membership on them. When consulting they need to make sure they have sought a balance of student views and remember that the membership of NUS is students’ unions.


The National Executive Council’s role is to provide strategic political leadership. The NEC should be reviewing the work of the zones, National President and the sub committees to make sure it is meeting the strategic political aims of NUS. Members of the NEC have NUS emails they can be contacted on :


Shakira Martin (SM) (President & Chair)


Emily Chapman (EC) & Jessica Foster (JF) (Further Education)

Amatey Doku (AD) & Diko Blackings (DB) (Higher Education)

Rob Young (RY) & Florence Onwumere (FO) (Society & Citizenship)

Ali Milani (AM) & Eva Crossan Jory (ECJ) (Union Development)

Izzy Lenga (SA) & Jessica Okwuonu (JO) (Welfare)


Iiyas Nagdee (IN) & Busayo Twins (BT) (Black Students)

Rachel O’Brien (RO) & Piers Wilkinson (PW) (Disabled Students)

Noorulann Shahid (NS) & Beth Douglas (BD) (LGBT+)

Hareem Ghani (HG) & Sarah Lasoya (SL) (Women’s)

Jess Bradley (JB) & Eden Ladley (Trans)


Yinbo Yu (YY) & Anna Oppenheim (AO) (International Students)

Fiona Wood (FW) (Part Time Students)

Tom Campbell (TC) (Mature Students)

Sarah Gilborn (SG) & Amelia Horgan (AH) (Postgraduate Students)

Deej Malik-Johnson (DMJ) (Parents and Carers)


Ellen Jones (EJ) & Kasha Ansari (KA) (NUS Wales)

Luke Humberstone (VS) & Shuwanna Aaron (SA) (NUS Scotland)

Olivia Potter-Hughes (OPH) & Stephen McCrystall (SM) (NUS-USI)


Jessica Levy, Aliya Yule, Darren Clarke, Joseph Cox, Louise Meek, Rahman Mohammadi, Nia Nash, Ceewhy Ochoga, Zamzam Ibrahim, Hansika Jethnani, Myriam Kane, Lucy Mason, Bethany Kitchener, Krum Tashev, Emily Horsfall