National Conference 2017: NUS VP (Further Education) candidates

Wednesday 15-03-2017 - 16:01

The period of nominations for the position of NUS Vice President (Further Education) has closed and we can now announce the candidates standing for election.

The candidates for the position of Vice President (Further Education) are as follows:

Emily Ann Chapman

My Name is Emily Chapman, SU President at Leeds City College and NEC (FE 2nd Place)

I want to be your VP Further Education to be a voice for FE Students' Unions & make education better for FE students.

If we work in partnership, sharing best practice and building power for Students' Unions can we actually achieve what we're here to do - make education better.

Vote Emily for VP Further Education and help me say FE IS HERE TO STAY!

Nominated by:

  1. Abbeygail Cassell, Birmingham Metropolitan
  2. Andrei Daniel, Aylesbury College SU
  3. Andrew Hunter, West Scotland
  4. Camille Taylor-Haley, Wakefield College Students’ Union
  5. Daniel George, Gower College Swansea
  6. Leah Price, Colege Gwent
  7. Mellisa Mitchell, South Lanarkshire
  8. Matthew Winship, Leeds City College
  9. Owen West, Coleg LLandrillo
  10. Stephen Bennet, Dudley College



Myriam Kane
Defend FE- no cuts and racism

For most of my life I've struggled against racism within education. I've been to school in Italy, France and Britain and in all of these places I've had to deal with intense racist abuse, bullying and discrimination.

Getting involved with my Students' Union and NUS was a powerful reminder that there was another way. I was inspired by how collective power can challenge the injustices we see.

I'm standing for NUS VP Further Education to lead a fighting NUS that puts defending FE centre stage – no fees, no cuts. Let's fight the Tories, racism, Brexit and Trump.

Nominated by:

  1. Dodie Okito, College of North West London
  2. Yousuf Farooq, New College Nottingham
  3. Jow Wolfreys, Woodhouse College
  4. Zeyad Rashad, Glasgow Kelvin College
  5. Alfie Bryan, Derby College
  6. Jenna Mitchell, Dundee and Angus College
  7. David Parada Perez, Glasgow Clyde College
  8. Fezaan Bashir, Joseph Chamberlain Sixth Form College
  9. Oluwatoke Fafowora, BSiX
  10. Taiyeb Ahmed, Tower Hamlets College



Re-open nominations (RON)


The position of Vice President (Further Education) will be elected by delegates during the second day of NUS National Conference, which takes place at The Brighton Centre from Tuesday 25 to Thursday 27 April 2017.

Want to find out which other positions are being contested during National Conference? A full list of candidates and manifestos is available at



Related Tags :

More NUS connect Articles

More Articles...