Cabinet Office funding winners announced!

Wednesday 11-03-2015 - 15:47

We, along with the Cabinet Office, have announced funding for over 60 students’ unions for voter registration activities. 

With just 40 days until the voter registration deadline, this funding will allow unions to engage with students on campus and online to make sure they are eligible to vote on 7 May. 

Launched just over two weeks ago, this competition was open to all students’ union across the UK to bid for money for projects to increase voter registration amongst their students. This competition was funded entirely by the Cabinet Office as part of its democratic engagement to get students registered in light of the move to Individual Electoral Registration.

We received a fantastic spread of bids with some really exciting plans to ensure that students voice are heard loud and proud at the election.The following Students’ Unions were awarded funding:

  • Bedford SU
  • Birmingham Guild
  • Birmingham Met SU
  • Bradford College Students’ Union
  • Cambridge University Students’ Union
  • Cardiff SU
  • Chester Student Union
  • Coleg Menai 
  • Coventry University Students’ Union
  • Derby College Students’ Union
  • Dundee University Students’ Association
  • Durham SU, New College Durham, East Durham College, Stockton Riverside College
  • East Kent College
  • FXU Students’ Union
  • Gloucestershire SU
  • Huddersfield
  • Keele SU
  • Kent Union, Canterbury Christ Church Students’ Union, Canterbury College Students’ Union, Students’ Union University of Greenwich
  • King's College London Students’ Union
  • Lancaster SU
  • Leeds University Union and Leeds Beckett Students’ Union
  • Liverpool Students’ Union, Liverpool Hope Students’ Union, Liverpool Guild of Students
  • Loughborough
  • Manchester Metropolitan Students Union and University of Manchester Students’ Union
  • Middlesex Students’ Union
  • New College Lanarkshire
  • Newham College Students’ Union
  • Northumbria Students’ Union
  • Oaklands SU
  • Oxford Brookes
  • Queens University Students’ Union
  • Reading
  • Sheffield College Students’ Union, University of Sheffield Students’ Union, Sheffield Hallam Student’s Union.
  • Staffordshire University Students’ Union
  • Swansea University Students’ Union
  • Teeside & Middlesbrough
  • Tresham Students’ Union
  • UEA
  • University of Abertay Students’ Association
  • University of Bristol Students’ Union
  • University of Cumbria SU
  • University of Leicester Students’ Union
  • University of Plymouth SU
  • University of Portsmouth Students’ Union
  • University of Stirling Students’ Union
  • University of Ulster Students’ Union
  • University of West London SU
  • Walsall College Students’ Union
  • Warwick Students’ Union

All successful unions who applied will be contacted directly about their award and the amount they have received. For more information contact Congratulations to all successful bids, student’s unions are set to be a force at the ballot box on 7 May.


A New Deal

Related Tags :

More NUS connect Articles

More Articles...