• SU Directory
  • Trading
  • NUS Extra

NUS Awards 2012

NUS Scotland Awards winners for 2012

Students, students’ associations, staff and student media were recognised for their achievements over the past year at the NUS Scotland Awards, which took place on Saturday, March 4 in Irvine at NUS Scotland’s National Conference.

The NUS Scotland Awards, now in their second year, are co-sponsored by NUS Scotland and Endsleigh Insurance.

Photos of each winner can be found at here

Robin Parker, President of NUS Scotland said:

“We hosted the NUS Scotland Awards 2012 to celebrate the inspirational work that students and students’ associations across Scotland do every day. The commitment, enthusiasm and range of achievements they demonstrate is so impressive and it was great to recognise this at the Awards ceremony, which is now in its second year.

“NUS Scotland received close to 100 nominations for awards, and each have been automatically entered into the UK-wide, national NUS Awards event. It's our hope that other students will be inspired by the work of the award winners and get involved in their students' associations to broaden their student experience and change the lives of students for the better.”

Tony Smith, Sales and Marketing Director of Endsleigh Insurance, said:

"Endsleigh is proud to partner the NUS Scotland Awards for the second year running. Through research and experience, Endsleigh understands the requirements of students and students' unions, and as such now operates as the UK's recognised student brand in providing for the insurance needs of students and graduates.

"The NUS Scotland Awards celebrates the importance of excellence in the contribution of students and students' unions to everyday life and also to society. We applaud the achievements of all those who were nominated."

Campaign of the Year

University of Abertay Dundee Students' Association, Hands Off Abertay, 01382 308302

Club or Society of the Year

Aberdeen University Students' Association, Ab Fab Society, (Gemma Riddell, Ab-Fab President, 01224 272965)

College Students’ Union of the Year

City of Glasgow College Students' Association, 0141 566 6222

University Students’ Union of the Year

Heriot-Watt University Students' Association, 0131 451 5333         

Community Relations Award

Edinburgh University Students' Association, 0131 650 2656

Course Rep of the Year

Gerry McDonnell, University of Strathclyde Student' Association, 0141 567 5000

Endsleigh Student of the Year

Gary Paterson, Angus College, 01241 432776

Equality and Diversity Award

Aberdeen University Students' Association, 01224 272965

Students’ Union Staff Member of the Year

Lizzie Brough, Edinburgh University Students' Association, 0131 650 2656

Student Media Award

Glasgow Journal, 07515393357 (Alan Robertson, Editor)

Journalist of the Year

Olivia Pires, Glasgow Journal, University of Strathclyde, (Alan Robertson, Editor, 07515 393 357)

Student Unionist of the Year

Stacey Devine, Reid Kerr College Students' Association, 0141 581 2132

Lifetime Achievement Award

Mike Baron, ex-Heriot Watt Students' Association, 0131 451 5333

For more information about NUS Scotland Conference please see www.nusconnect.org.uk/nusscotlandconference